watch our video

Digital Sequence Information (DSI) Scientific Network

The DSI Scientific Network was created in 2020 with the purpose to engage in the international debate on DSI. The Network’s mission is to contribute to policymakers and other stakeholders’ understanding of DSI, its applications and contributions to research supporting biodiversity conservation and public health, as well as the global benefits of open access to DSI databases.

DSI has no clear agreed definition and scope, which contributes to an intense debate about what it covers and how it should be accessed, used, governed, and its benefits distributed. DSI will be a critical point of negotiation on the 15th Conference of Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD COP-15) in 2021, as Parties discuss goals and targets of the Post-2020 Global Biodiversity Framework (GBF). The topics are also part of a discussions in other fora, such as International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA), United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS), and World Health Organization (WHO).

All Network members are researchers with experience in scientific research using DSI and committed to supporting informed decision-making on future access and benefit-sharing framework(s) for DSI. Members recognise that finding a solution, which balances the value of open access for researchers with the importance of benefit sharing, including monetary benefits, is essential to deliver a global biodiversity framework that meets the priorities of different stakeholders and contributes to the sustainable development goals.

The core activities of the Network are supported by the WiLDSI and the EVA-Global (WP7) projects. Members serve in their individual expert capacity, not on behalf of their organisations or institutions. They contribute to the Network through their participation in its activities on a voluntary basis. General support to the Network is provided by a Secretariat managed by Emerging Ag Inc.

Our members include:

  • Alejandra Sierra, Mariano Galvez University, Guatemala
  • Amber Scholz, Leibniz Institute DSMZ-German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures GmbH, Germany
  • Andrew Hufton, Leibniz Institute DSMZ-German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures GmbH, Germany
  • Anne-Caroline Delétoille, Institut Pasteur, France
  • Carlos Ospina Bravo, Swisscontact, Colombia
  • Christian Tiambo, Centre for Tropical Livestock Genetics and Health, ILRI, Kenya
  • Christopher H.C. Lyal, Natural History Museum, UK
  • David Nicholson, Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK
  • Desiree Hautea, University of Philippines Los Banos, Philippines
  • Douglas W. Miano, University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Eizadora T. Yu, University of the Philippines Diliman, Philippines
  • Fabian Rhoden, University of Lethbridge, Canada
  • Felipe García Cardona, Institute for Biological Alexander von Humboldt, Colombia
  • Gernot Segelbacher, University of Freiburg, Germany
  • Guilherme Oliveira, Instituto Tecnologico Vale (ITV), Brazil
  • Guy Cochrane, European Molecular Biology Laboratory European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), UK
  • Halima Benbouza, University of Batna and National Council of Scientific Research and Technologies, Algeria
  • Hamadi Iddi Boga, Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Cooperatives, Kenya
  • Hayley Clissold, Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK
  • Ibon Cancio, European Marine Biological Resource Centre – Spain (EMBRC-Spain) & University of the Basque Country, Spain
  • Ilene Karsch Mizrachi, US National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, USA
  • Jonathan Coddington, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, USA
  • Jens Freitag, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research (IPK), Germany
  • Jessica da Silva, South African National Biodiversity Institute, South Africa
  • Joerg Overman, Leibniz Institute DSMZ & TU Braunschweig, Germany
  • Kailash Bansal, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences and Global Plant Council, India
  • Kassahun Tesfaye Ethiopia Biotechnology Institute, Ethiopia
  • Krystal Tolley, South African National Biodiversity Institute, South Africa
  • Manuela da Silva, Fundação Oswaldo Cruz (FIOCRUZ), Brazil
  • Martha Lucia Cepeda, Universidad de los Andes, Colombia
  • Maria Mercedes Zambrano, Corporación Corpogen, Colombia
  • Michael Bruford, Cardiff University, UK
  • Michelle Hamer, South African National Biodiversity Institute, South Africa
  • Mutsuaki Suzuki, National Institute of Genetics, Japan
  • Ole Seberg, Natural History Museum, Denmark
  • Paul Oldham, One World Analytics, UK
  • Raquel Hurtado Ortiz, Institut Pasteur, France
  • Rachel Wynberg, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Rajeev Varshney, Murdoch University, Australia
  • Rodrigo Sara, Leibniz Institute DSMZ & One Planet Solutions, France
  • Scarlett Sett, Leibniz Institute DSMZ  & European Virus Archive (EVA-GLOBAL), Germany
  • Sylvain Brisse, Institut Pasteur, France
  • Yemisrach Abebaw, Ethiopia Biotechnology Institute, Ethiopia
  • Yogesh Shouche, National Center for Microbial Resource, India