Kurze Geschichte der DSMZ

Die DSMZ - Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen (German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures) GmbH wurde 1969 unter der Schirmherrschaft der Gesellschaft für Strahlen- und Umweltforschung am Institut für Mikrobiologie der Universität in Göttingen gegründet. Ihren Sitz in Braunschweig hat die DSMZ seit 1987. Seit 1996 ist die DSM unter dem Kürzel DSMZ eine Serviceeinrichtung in der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft.

1969 foundation of a national culture collection, supported by external grants. Decentralized organization with headquarter in Göttingen
1971 shortly after foundation, 235 bacterial cultures are sold to external scientists
1972 the first patent strain is included in the closed collection
1973 official name "Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen (DSM)"
1974 recognition as official patent deposit by the German Patent and Trade Mark Office
1976 DSM becomes an independent collection at the Institute of Microbiology in Göttingen; transfer of 1,200 phytopathogenic fungi from the Biologische Bundesanstalt Berlin-Dahlem to Göttingen
1979 DSM is outsourced from the Gesellschaft für Strahlenforschung and transfered to the Gesellschaft für Biotechnologische Forschung (GBF) in Braunschweig; head of the institute is Dr. Dieter Claus
1981 recognition as International Depositary Authority (IDA) for patent purposes according to the Budapest Treaty
1987 unification of all German collections in Braunschweig at the Gesellschaft für Biotechnologische Forschung mBH; establishment of the new collections of plant cell lines as well as human and animal cell lines
1988 renaming to "Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen"; legally independent body established as a nonprofit accepted private limited company (GmbH)
1990 uptake of the plant virus collection of Prof. Dr. Rudolf Bercks (Braunschweig)
1992 IMET Kulturensammlung des Zentralinstituts für Mikrobiologie und experimentelle Therapie (ZIMET) in Jena becomes a temporary branch office of the DSMZ; beginning of the transfer of IMET patent strains and other selected strains to Braunschweig
1993 appointment of Prof. Dr. Erko Stackebrandt as Scientific Director (1993-2010)
1996 DSMZ becomes member of the Leibniz Association
2004 establishment of quality management according to ISO 9001:2000
2010 appointment of Prof. Dr. Jörg Overmann as Scientific Director; foundation of the fifth department Microbial Ecology and Biodiversity Research
2011 establishment of a bioinformatic unit and high-throughput sequencing center
2012 launch of the phenotypic database BacDive
2012-2014 establishment of three independent junior research groups: Microbial Cell Biology, Single Cell Genomics and Molecular Tumor Research
2014 Prof. Dr. Ulrich Nübel joins DSMZ as head of the research unit Microbial Genome Research; the DSMZ main building is increased by one floor
2015 groundbreaking ceremony at the Science Campus Braunschweig-Süd for the "Zentrum für Wirkstoff- und Funktionelle Genomforschung", jointly set up with the Helmholtzzentrum für Infektionsforschung and the TU Braunschweig
2016 establishment of a new collection department Bioresources for Bioeconomy and Health Research
2017 Prof. Dr. Michael Pester joins DSMZ as head of the department Microorganisms
2018 first European Registered Collection; implementation of a dual management with Prof. Dr. Jörg Overmann as Scientific Director and Bettina Fischer as Administrative Director; recertification according to ISO 9001:2015; accreditation according to ISO 17034:2017
2019 50th anniversary of DSMZ in Braunschweig, Germany; Prof. Dr. Yvonne Mast joins DSMZ as head of the department Bioresources for Bioeconomy and Health Research
May 2020 appointment of Prof. Dr. Laura Steenpaß as head of the department Human and Animal Cell Lines