Bacteria, Archaea

Pathogenic bacteria
Important pathogens, fastidious, anaerobic or intracellular bacteria
Staphylococcus, Streptococcus, Enterococcus, Helicobacter, Campylobacter, Bordetella, Neisseria, Legionella, Pasteurella, Listeria, Bacteroides, Prevotella, Francisella, Borrelia, Leptospira, Treponema, Mycoplasma, Chlamydia, Rickettsia

PD Dr. Sabine Gronow
E-mail: Sabine.Gronow@dsmz.de
Gram-negative bacteria
Comprehensive subcollections of aerobic and anaerobic Gram-netagive bacteria: mainly Gammaproteobacteria such as Enterobacteriaceae, Pseudomonas, Vibrio, Aeromonas, Comamonas, Thauera, Lysobacter, and Xanthomonas; Ammonium oxidizing bacteria and archaea; Myxobacteria; Xenobiotics degrading bacteria

Dr. Richard Hahnke
E-mail: Richard.Hahnke@dsmz.de
New and underrepresented phyla
Comprehensive subcollections of Corynebacterineae, Pseudonocardineae, Rhodobacteraceae, Acidobacteria, Elusimicrobia

Dr. Katharina Huber
E-mail: Katharina.Huber@dsmz.de
Actinomycetales
Streptomycineae, Catenulisporineae, Micromonosporineae, Frankineae, Kineosporiineae, Streptosporangineae, Actinopolysporineae, Glycomycineae, Jiangellineae

Dr. Katharina Huber
E-mail: Katharina.Huber@dsmz.de
Gram-Positive bacteria
Comprehensive subcollections of aerobic, microaerophilic and obligate anaerobic Gram-positive bacteria: Orders Bacillales, Bifidobacteriales, Lactobacillales, class Coriobacteriia; suborder Micrococcineae; families Propionibacteriaceae and Actinomycetaceae. Obligate anaerobic bacteria of the order Bacteroidales affiliated to Risk group 1; the microbial strain collection of the European Space Agency

Dr. R├╝diger Pukall
E-mail: Ruediger.Pukall@dsmz.de
Cyanobacteria and protists
Comprehensive subcollections of cyanobacteria, diatoms, and protozoa

Dr. Martin Schumacher
E-mail: Martin.Schumacher@dsmz.de
Archaea and extremophilic bacteria
Comprehensive subcollections of clostridia, methanogens, sulfate-reducers, hyperthermophiles and acidophiles

Dr. Stefan Spring
E-mail: Stefan.Spring@dsmz.de
Halophilic and phototrophic bacteria
Comprehensive subcollections of Halobacteriales, Thermococcaceae, Thermoplasma, Halanaerobiales, anoxygenic phototrophic bacteria, Thermales, Planctomycetales, Verrucomicrobia, nitrogen fixers, budding and appendaged bacteria, Cytophaga/Flavobacteria, methanotrophs, methylotrophs, Gram-negative marine, moderately and extremely halophilic bacteria

Dr. Brian Tindall
E-mail: Brian.Tindall@dsmz.de
Filamentous bacteria and coordination of the identification services
Comprehensive subcollections of filamentous bacteria (e.g., Beggiatoa, Thiothrix, Flexibacter, Sphaerotilus) and Rhizobiales; coordination of the identification services

Dr. Susanne Verbarg
E-mail: Susanne.Verbarg@dsmz.de

 

 

Fungi & Yeasts

identification and systematics of Fungi;
reference laboratory for indoor and foodborne fungi;
fungi with relevance to human health, aquatic fungi.
PD Dr. Christiane Baschien
E-mail: Christiane.Baschien@dsmz.de
Ascomycetes, Basidiomycetes, Zygomycetes, OomycetesDr. Andrey Yurkov
E-mail: Andrey.Yurkov@dsmz.de

 

 

Phages

all kinds of naturally occurring or genetically engineered plasmids within hosts, broad variety of phages from different habitats and for various hosts, E. coli mutants, test and host strains, medically relevant E. coli.Dr. Christine Rohde
E-mail: Christine.Rohde@dsmz.de
a broad variety of bacteriophages from different habitats and for various hosts, as well as phage genomics and phage applicationDr. Johannes Wittmann
E-mail: Johannes.Wittmann@dsmz.de

 

Plant Virus & Antisera

Plant virus and antisera                                                                                              Dr. Wulf Menzel
E-mail: Wulf.Menzel@dsmz.de

 

 

Human and Animal Cell Lines

Human and Animal Cell Lines                                                                Prof. Dr. Hans G. Drexler
E-mail: Hans.Drexler@dsmz.de